Dr. Schechter’s Calculus Classes, Fall 2010

Calculus 1 – Full College Course
Calculus 1 – Full College Course

Lesson Date Sections Homework problems For credit
1 Wednesday, August 25 Diagnostic Test distributed in class
2 Friday, August 27 Appendix A see supplement 6, 12, 14
3 Monday, August 30 Appendix A 1, 2, 6, 31, 33-34 and see supplement Problem 18 from the day 1 of the “supplement” (linked above) and problems 2, 6, 34 from pages 1067-1068 of the textbook.
4 Wednesday, September 1 Solving Eqn/Ineq. see supplement #6, 12 from “3 Day 4 Eqns and Ineqs” in the supplement; and #30 on page 1068 of the textbook
5 Friday, September 3 1.1 1, 2, 3, 5, 7, 9, 10; 21, 23, 26, 28, 30; 31, 32, 34; 47, 49, 50, 52 (no graphing); 55, 58, 73, 74 30, 50, 74
6 Monday, September 6 1.2 2, 3, 5-10, 17, 20, 30-32, 40, 41, 44-47, 52-54 30, 40, 46
7 Wednesday, September 8 1.3 (No logs) 1, 2, 5, 6, 11-15, 17-21, 41-43, 58 and see supplement 14, 18a, 42
8 Friday, September 10 1.4 (No inv. trig.) 1, 4, 5, 7, 8, 15, 17, 18, 19, 66, 67, 69, 71, 72, 75, 76 and see supplement 66, 72, 76. (For #76, be sure to label the axes, and label the coordinates of a few points on the graph.)
9 Monday, September 13 Trig Eqns. see supplement #12, 14 in section 8.2 of the supplement
10 Wednesday, September 15 Review
Thursday, September 16 Test 1
11 Friday, September 17 No Class
12 Monday, September 20 1.3 (Logs) 34-36, 41-48, 53-56, 57, 59, 61, 71, 73, 74
13 Wednesday, September 22 1.4 (Inv. Trig.) 35-40, 41-61 odd, 63-65 page 33 # 44 and page 44 # 40, 58. Diagrams optional.
14 Friday, September 24 2.1 5, 6, 9, 11, 17, 19, 21, 22, 24, 25 10
15 Monday, September 27 2.2 1, 2, 5, 7, 14, 18, 19, 21, 23, 25, 29, 31, 38, 39 18, 24, 36
16 Wednesday, September 29 2.3 4, 16, 19, 21, 31, 36, 41, 47, 49, 51, 55, 63, 68, 70, 75, 76, 77, 85 60, 68, 76
17 Friday, October 1 2.4 4, 6, 7, 9, 15, 16, 17, 19, 21, 25, 29, 33, 35, 36, 38, 39, 41, 42, 43, 45, 47 10, 20, 26
18 Monday, October 4 2.5 3, 5, 6, 7, 8, 12, 13, 14, 17-37 odds, 40, 43, 44, 47-61 odds, 69, 71, 72 12, 28, 44. Also, bring review questions to class on Wednesday. Hint for #44: let u be the cube root of x, and factor.
19 Wednesday, October 6 Review
Thursday, October 7 Test 2
20 Friday, October 8 No Class
21 Monday, October 11 2.6 1, 7, 11, 15, 17, 21, 27, 28, 31, 35, 37, 44, 55, 56, 59, 60, 71, 75, 82, 91
22 Wednesday, October 13 2.6, 2.7 2.6 – 46, 47, 48, 449, 52, 61, 65, 68, 77, 79, 81, 87, 93
2.7 – 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, 11, 15, 19, 33, 45
page 104 problem 48. Also, start memorizing the definition on page 107.
Friday, October 15 Fall Break
23 Monday, October 18 2.7 21, 23, 26, 32, 33, 35, 36, 37, 41, 43, 47, 49, 51, 57, 58 20, 38
24 Wednesday, October 20 3.1 6, 7, 15, 17, 22, 27, 37, 53, 59, 62, 63, 67, 69, 71
25 Friday, October 22 3.1, 3.2 3.1 – 8, 9, 33, 39, 41, 45, 47, 51
3.2 – 7, 11, 17, 18, 19, 27, 28, 33, 34, 35, 41, 43, 49, 50-53, 58, 69
page 135 # 66 and page 143 # 28, 42
26 Monday, October 25 3.2 10, 21, 23, 37, 46, 47, 65, 68, 73, 74 page 143 # 38a, 52, 56
27 Wednesday, October 27 3.3 10, 11, 17, 21, 27, 29, 39, 41, 45, 46, 47, 52, 53, 55, 61, 62, 69, 71, 73, 75 18, 30a
28 Friday, October 29 3.4 6, 9, 10, 11, 13, 17, 19, 22, 29, 35, 39, 42, 45, 53, 55, 59, 61, 65, 69, 71 22, 34
29 Monday, November 1 3.5 1, 4, 8, 9, 17, 23, 25, 29, 33, 34, 39, 43, 45, 51
30 Wednesday, November 3 Review
Thursday, November 4 Test 3
31 Friday, November 5 No Class
32 Monday, November 8 3.6 3, 6, 7, 15, 16, 19, 25, 29, 31, 41, 45, 47, 51, 53, 57, 59, 63, 70, 73, 77, 80, 81
33 Wednesday, November 10 30, 34, 44
34 Friday. November 12 3.7 3-21 odd, 27, 31, 37, 45, 47, 51-59 odd, 67, 69, 75 26, 68
35 Monday, November 15 3.7, 3.8 (continued) sec 3.8 page 199 # 16, 36, 48
36 Wednesday, November 17 3.8 1, 3, 6, 7, 9, 11, 15, 19, 22, 23, 24, 27, 33, 35, 39, 41, 45, 49, 51, 54, 58, 63 page 214 # 18, 24
37 Friday, November 19 3.10 3, 4, 7, 11, 15, 19, 25, 29, 33, 37, 41, 44, 45 (no written assignment over the break)
November 20 – November 28 Thanksgiving Break
38 Monday, November 29 3.10
39 Wednesday, December 1 Review
Thursday, December 2 Test 4
40 Friday, December 3 No Class
41 Monday, December 6 3.9 2, 4, 5, 6, 9, 11, 21-27 odd, 29a, 33, 37, 41, 43, 51, 55, 59, 64, 67
42 Wednesday, December 8 Review
Wednesday, December 15 Final Exam No alternate exam will be given

You are watching: Dr. Schechter’s Calculus Classes, Fall 2010. Info created by THVinhTuy selection and synthesis along with other related topics.

Rate this post

Related Posts